50 engineering leaders become Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering

Fifty leading engineers from the UK and around the world have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering in recognition of their outstanding and continuing contributions to the profession.

The 50 new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at its AGM in London today, in addition to four International Fellows and one Honorary Fellow, who will add their expertise to the Fellowship of nearly 1,600 world-leading engineers from both industry and academia.

Professor Dame Ann Dowling OM DBE FREng FRS, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, said: “I am delighted to welcome all our new Fellows to the Academy – together they epitomise the very best of UK engineering. Representing the country’s most innovative and creative minds from both academia and industry, the achievements of our new Fellows highlight the critical role engineering has in addressing major societal challenges and ensuring our readiness for the future. We are very much looking forward to working with them as we continue to fulfil our vision of engineering at the heart of a sustainable and prosperous society.”

The complete list of new Fellows for 2018 is as follows:


  • Professor Guglielmo Aglietti
    Director, Surrey Space Centre, University of Surrey
  • Dr Paul Atherton
    Chairman, Nexeon Ltd; Phase Focus Ltd; FungiAlert Ltd
  • Professor Christopher Atkin
    Professor of Aeronautical Engineering, City University London
  • Fawaz Bitar
    Head of Global Operations, BP plc
  • Mark Bennett
    Strategy Director – Government, BAE Systems Applied Intelligence
  • Sir George Buckley
    Chairman, Stanley Black & Decker Inc; Smiths Group plc
  • Dr Mark Buswell
    Vice President and Head of Discovery, GSK
  • Mark Carne
    Former Chief Executive, Network Rail
  • Professor Judith Driscoll
    Professor of Materials Science, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte FRS
    Chief Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Defence
  • Professor Robert Dwyer-Joyce
    Professor of Lubrication Engineering, University of Sheffield
  • Trevor Gill
    Telecommunications consultant
  • Air Vice-Marshal Susan Gray CB OBE
    Air Officer Commanding No. 38 Group, Royal Air Force
  • Professor Timothy Green
    Director of the Energy Futures Lab, Imperial College London
  • Professor YikeGuo
    Director of Data Science Institute and Professor of Computing Science, Imperial College London and Shanghai University
  • Professor Christopher Hewitt
    Pro-Vice Chancellor, Executive Dean and Professor of Biological Engineering, Aston University
  • Dr Graham Hoare OBE
    Director – Global Engineering Operations, Ford Motor Company UK
  • Professor David Johnson
    Director, DGauge Ltd
  • Professor David Jones
    Pro-Vice Chancellor Education and Students, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Dr Raouf Kattan
    Managing Director, Safinah Ltd
  • Dr Niel Kempson CB
    Director General for Capability, UK Government
  • Professor Robin Langley
    Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Head of Division of Mechanics, Materials and Design, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Barry Lennox
    Research Director Dalton Cumbrian Facility and Professor of Applied Control, University of Manchester
  • Professor Andrew Lewis
    Director of Research & Development, Innovation, Biocompatibles UK Ltd
  • Peter Lomas
    Director of Engineering, Norcott Technologies Ltd
  • Professor KwaiMan Luk
    Chair Professor of Electronic Engineering, City University of Hong Kong
  • Professor Rebecca Lunn MBE FRSE
    Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Strathclyde
  • John MacArthur
    Vice President Group Carbon, Shell
  • Professor Ricardo Martinez-Botas
    Professor of Turbomachinery, Imperial College London
  • Paul McKinlay
    Senior Vice President and Head of Broughton Plant, Airbus UK
  • Hilary Mercer
    Vice President Pennsylvania Chemicals, Shell Global
  • Professor Andy Neely
    Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Enterprise and Business Relations, University of Cambridge
  • James O’Callaghan
    Founding Director, Eckersley O’Callaghan
  • Brian Palmer
    Chief Executive Officer, Tharsus Group Limited
  • Professor Thomas Rodden
    Deputy CEO, EPRSC; Professor of Computing, University of Nottingham
  • Nicholas Rogers
    Executive Director, Product Engineering, Jaguar Land Rover
  • Rob Spurrett
    Founder and Director, Cherry Space Ltd
  • Alasdair Stirling CBE
    Director Engineering Services, Naval Marine, Babcock International Group
  • Dr Peter Thompson
    Chief Executive Officer, National Physical Laboratory
  • Professor Rachel Thomson
    Professor of Materials Engineering and PVC for Teaching, Loughborough University
  • Professor Marco Viceconti
    Professor of Biomechanics, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Jiangzhou Wang
    Professor and Chair of Telecommunications, University of Kent
  • Dr Andrew Ward
    Chief Technology Officer, Ubisense Limited
  • Professor Rachel Williams
    Professor of Ophthalmic Bioengineering, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Graham Wren
    Director of Major Projects and Special Adviser to the Principal, University of Strathclyde
  • David Wright
    Director, Electricity Transmission, National Grid
  • Dr Richard Yemm
    Director, Quoceant Ltd
  • Professor Paul Young
    Professor of Geophysics, University of Toronto
  • Professor Ken Young
    Technology Director, Manufacturing Technology Centre
  • Professor Zhibing Zhang
    Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Birmingham

International Fellows

  • Professor Frances Arnold (USA)
    Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry, California Institute of Technology
  • Professor Zhenya Liu (China)
    Chairman, GEIDCO, Beijing
  • Dr Harry Shum (USA)
    Executive Vice President – AI & Research, Microsoft Corporation
  • Professor Ji Zhou (China)
    Honorary Chairman, Governing Board of Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE)

Honorary Fellow

  • Philip Greenish CBE
    Chair of Council, University of Southampton

Biographies of the new elected Fellows will be available from Tuesday 18 September on the Academy’s website.

Royal Academy of Engineering

As the UK’s national academy for engineering and technology, we bring together the most successful and talented engineers from academia and business – our Fellows – to advance and promote excellence in engineering for the benefit of society.

We harness their experience and expertise to provide independent advice to government, to deliver programmes that help exceptional engineering researchers and innovators realise their potential, to engage the public with engineering and to provide leadership for the profession.

We have three strategic priorities:

  • Make the UK the leading nation for engineering innovation and businesses
  • Address the engineering skills and diversity challenge
  • Position engineering at the heart of society

We bring together engineers, policy makers, entrepreneurs, business leaders, academics, educators and the public in pursuit of these goals.

Engineering is a global profession, so we work with partners across the world to advance engineering’s contribution to society on an international, as well as a national scale.

For more information please contact: Siobhan Pipa at the Royal Academy of Engineering Tel. 020 7766 0745; email: Siobhan.pipa@raeng.org.uk